$4,000 AWARD
Poverty and Inequality 2020-2021 Awards
Award Established 2020

The National Press Foundation is offering one-time awards to honor excellence in reporting on poverty and inequality and their effects on families in the United States. The first round of awards were held in September 2020 for the best reporting on children in poverty in the United States. Idrees Kahloon of The Economist and Anna Wolfe of Mississippi Today are the first winners of the National Press Foundation’s 2020 Poverty and Inequality Awards.

Prizes will be given in two more rounds to honor the best reporting on understanding poverty and inequality in America and how to alleviate it.

Fall prize| Work published or broadcast between Oct. 1 – Dec. 31, 2020

Deadline for entries:  Jan. 15, 2021

Spring prize | Work published or broadcast between Jan. 1 – March 31, 2021

Deadline for entries: April 15, 2021

Read carefully for publication dates, eligibility requirements, and application deadlines:

These awards are open to U.S.-based journalists publishing in any medium (print, broadcast, online, podcast, etc.) whose work represents the highest standards of journalism. To encourage policy-relevant, data-informed reporting, these awards are offered in conjunction with training conducted for journalists by the National Press Foundation. Applicants for each prize must have attended or viewed on video at least two of the online NPF programs.

Winners of awards in previous months are ineligible to reapply. Work should be submitted according to the size of the news outlet that publishes the work. See details below. The jury for these awards will be panels of professional journalists.

Prize 1: $4,000 for the best story published in any medium by any news outlet on children in poverty.

Prize 2: $4,000 for the best story published in any medium by any news outlet with a newsroom of 150 or fewer journalists. (This number includes editors, designers, digital producers, etc.)

Prize 3: $4,000 for the best story published in any medium by any news outlet with a newsroom of 50 or fewer journalists, or by a freelancer, unemployed or furloughed journalist.

For questions on these awards, contact Anika Dieguez at anika@nationalpress.org.

These awards and the trainings are funded by the David and Lucile Packard Foundation, W.K. Kellogg Foundation and Heising-Simons Foundation; NPF is solely responsible for the content of the trainings.

Apply now
Registration Deadline Jan. 15, 2021


You Will Need:

1. One Work Sample

Deadline for Entry:

Friday, Jan. 15, 2021


Journalism published or broadcast from Oct. 1-Dec. 31, 2020.

Entry Fee:

There is no entry fee for this award.

Winner Requiements:

1. Those submitting an application must have attended, or watched online, two of the NPF Poverty and Inequality 2020 briefings.
2. Winning entries will be published on the National Press Foundation website. By submitting this application, you grant NPF permission to do so.


Contact Anika Dieguez at anika@nationalpress.org or 202-663-7285.

Apply now
Registration Deadline Jan. 15, 2021