Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award

Rick Hutzell, editor of Capital Gazette Communications in Annapolis, Maryland, has won the National Press Foundation’s Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award.

Five Capital Gazette employees were killed in a mass shooting in their newsroom in June. In the months since, Hutzell’s leadership has inspired journalists around the country.

NPF judges said: “We saw courage in the face of unimaginable tragedy in the Capital Gazette editor and his staff. As pledged, they put out a ‘damn paper’ the next day, and every day since in service to their community. It underscores the importance of local newspapers and the unbreakable bond with their communities.”

The National Press Foundation established the Editor of the Year Award in 1984 to recognize significant achievements that enhance the quality of journalism in the United States. The award is open to any U.S.-based editor at any level of a news organization. It recognizes imagination, professional skill, ethics and an ability to motivate staff — qualities that produce excellence in media and represent the highest standards of journalism. The award and a cash prize of $5,000 will be presented at the NPF Annual Awards Dinner on Feb. 13, 2019.