Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award

The application for the 2020 Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award will open mid-August.

The National Press Foundation established the Editor of the Year Award in 1984 to recognize significant achievements that enhance the quality of journalism in the United States. The award is open to any U.S.-based editor at any level of a news organization. It recognizes imagination, professional skill, ethics and an ability to motivate staff — qualities that produce excellence in media and represent the highest standards of journalism. The award includes a cash prize of $5,000 and the winner participates in NPF’s annual awards event.

Mindy Marqués of the Miami Herald was the winner of the 2019 National Press Foundation Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award.

Aminda Marqués González, who is president and publisher and executive editor of the Miami Herald Media Co., received the award at NPF’s annual journalism awards dinner.

NPF judges said: “Mindy Marqués leads a newsroom which produces exciting journalism that makes a difference in people’s lives. Her steadfast commitment to accountability journalism brought predator Jeffrey Epstein to justice, kept a laser focus on the hurricane victims in Puerto Rico and revealed how gun violence forever changed the Parkland school community. Great reporters are critical for great investigations, but so are great editors.”