Clifford K. & James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons

Syndicated cartoonist Nancy Ohanian has won the National Press Foundation’s Clifford K. and James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons.

NPF judges said: “Nancy Ohanian’s work is a masterful exercise in composition. Her powerful images exhibit a high degree of technical skill, creating unforgettable visual satire.”

Honorable Mention: Tim Campbell, The Washington Post syndicate.

In 1989 Florence Berryman, former art critic of The Washington Star, endowed an annual award in memory of her late father and brother, both Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonists. The Berryman Award is open to U.S.-based editorial cartoonists for work that exhibits power to influence public opinion, plus good drawing and striking effect. The cartoons should represent the highest standards of journalism. The winner will receive a $2,500 prize at the National Press Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner in Washington, D.C.