Chairman’s Citation

Mike Weisskopf 2007

Time Magazine

Michael Weisskopf is the senior correspondent for TIME in the magazine’s Washington, D.C. bureau. He covers national politics and investigations, and most recently, the ongoing war in Iraq.

In October, 2006, Weisskopf published “Blood Brothers: Among the Soldiers of Ward 57,” an account of his heroic intervention in and injury and recovery from an insurgent attack in Iraq. While reporting TIME’s “Person of the Year” story in December, 2003, Weisskopf threw a live Iraqi hand grenade from a U.S. Army humvee, saving himself, TIME’s photographer and four soldiers, but losing his right hand. He was sent to the amputee ward at Walter Reed Army Medical Center, the first reporter wounded in combat ever to be treated at that premiere hospital for soldiers in Washington, DC. There, he met three soldiers whose injury, recovery and reentry he weaves into his own story in “Blood Brothers.” For his Iraq coverage, Weisskopf has won the National Headliners Award, The Daniel Pearl Award for courage and integrity in journalism, honorable mention from the Overseas Press Club and two nominations for the National Magazine Award.

As an investigative reporter for the nation section, Weisskopf has scored many scoops, including the smoking-gun letter of FBI whistle-blower Coleen Rowley and broke stories on Arthur Andersen’s shredding of Enron documents, President Bill Clinton’s deal with prosecutors and several Monica Lewinsky stories.

He is co-author of two books: “Truth At Any Cost,” a book on the Kenneth Starr probe published in April of 2000 by HarperCollins, and “Tell Newt to Shut Up,” a book about the 1995 Republican revolution in congress, published in 1996 by Simon & Schuster’s paperback division.

In 1998, Weisskopf was co-winner of the prestigious Goldsmith Award for Investigative Reporting, for Time’s portfolio of investigative stories on campaign finance abuses. In 1999, he and chief political correspondent Eric Pooley were given the Henry R. Luce award for “Outstanding Story” for a piece they wrote on Kenneth Starr called “How Starr Sees It.”

Weisskopf joined TIME in January 1997 from The Washington Post. In his 20 years with the Post, he covered money in politics, the environment and the Pentagon. He was the paper’s correspondent in China from 1980 to 1985 and covered the hostage crisis in Iran in 1979 and 1980. While at the Post, Weisskopf won the George Polk Award for national coverage and The Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting of Congress. In 1996 he was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for National Reporting.

Prior to joining the Post, Weisskopf covered politics and government for The Baltimore Sun. Weisskopf received his Master of Arts from the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies and his Bachelors degree from George Washington University.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Elisabeth Bumiller

Elisabeth Bumiller

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Sally Jenkins

Sally Jenkins

Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Steve Buttry

Steve Buttry

Louisiana State University


NPF Award Winner: Nigel Jaquiss

Nigel Jaquiss

Willamette Week


NPF Award Winner: Brian Krebs

Brian Krebs



NPF Award Winner: Anthony Shadid

Anthony Shadid

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Albert Hunt

Albert Hunt

Bloomberg News


NPF Award Winner: Colbert I. King

Colbert I. King

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Austin H. Kiplinger

Austin H. Kiplinger

The Kiplinger Letter


NPF Award Winner: Peter S. Pritchard

Peter S. Pritchard

The Newseum


Mike Weisskopf

Time Magazine


NPF Award Winner: Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Akron Beacon Journal


Anthony Marro



Robert G. McGruder

Detroit Free Press


The New York Times

The New York Times


Otis Chandler

Los Angeles Times


Walker Lundy

The St. Paul Pioneer Press


Michael Bloomberg

Bloomberg, L.P.


Joe L. Allbritton

Allbritton Communications and Riggs National Bank