Austin H. Kiplinger

NPF Award Winner: Austin H. Kiplinger - Austin H. Kiplinger

Austin H. Kiplinger 2009

The Kiplinger Letter

Austin H. Kiplinger, editor emeritus of The Kiplinger Letter, has had a distinguished journalism career spanning more than five decades as a reporter, broadcast commentator and editor, specializing in business and political affairs. At Cornell University he worked for the Ithaca Journal and the Associated Press After graduating Phi Beta Kappa from Cornell in 1939, his full-time reporting career began in 1940 with the San Francisco Chronicle. In World War II he served as a Navy aviator in the South Pacific. After the war he helped launch Changing Times, the nation's first magazine of personal money management, now titled Kiplinger's Personal Finance Magazine. In 1948, Mr. Kiplinger became the front-page daily columnist of the Chicago Journal of Commerce. During the 1950s, he was a Chicago newscaster for the ABC and NBC television networks. He was part of the ABC team of the 1952 political conventions in Chicago. He covered the 1956 conventions with NBC. After rejoining the Kiplinger Washington Editors, he succeeded his father, W.M. Kiplinger, as editor-in-chief, in 1961. Mr. Kiplinger is joined in the business by his son, Knight, editor-in-chief and publisher of Kiplinger's Personal Finance Magazine and the Kiplinger Letters. Maintaining a life-long interest in civic and educational affairs, he is Chairman Emeritus of the Board of Trustees of Cornell University, former President of Tudor Place Foundation, former chairman of the Federal City Council and co-chairman of the Leadership Committee for the City Museum of Washington. He serves on the board of the National Symphony Orchestra and as a trustee of the National Press Foundation. He is a 57-year member of the National Press Club. A native of Washington, D.C., Mr. Kiplinger did graduate study in economics at Harvard University. He is the co-author of four books dealing with economic issues. He holds honorary degrees from Union College, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Bryant College, St. Mary's College of Maryland, Ohio State University and the University of Idaho.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Elisabeth Bumiller

Elisabeth Bumiller

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Sally Jenkins

Sally Jenkins

Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Steve Buttry

Steve Buttry

Louisiana State University


NPF Award Winner: Nigel Jaquiss

Nigel Jaquiss

Willamette Week


NPF Award Winner: Brian Krebs

Brian Krebs



NPF Award Winner: Anthony Shadid

Anthony Shadid

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Albert Hunt

Albert Hunt

Bloomberg News


NPF Award Winner: Colbert I. King

Colbert I. King

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Austin H. Kiplinger

Austin H. Kiplinger

The Kiplinger Letter


NPF Award Winner: Peter S. Pritchard

Peter S. Pritchard

The Newseum


Mike Weisskopf

Time Magazine


NPF Award Winner: Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Akron Beacon Journal


Anthony Marro



Robert G. McGruder

Detroit Free Press


The New York Times

The New York Times


Otis Chandler

Los Angeles Times


Walker Lundy

The St. Paul Pioneer Press


Michael Bloomberg

Bloomberg, L.P.


Joe L. Allbritton

Allbritton Communications and Riggs National Bank