Al Hunt
Judy Woodruff
Judy Woodruff, Al Hunt to Receive Kiplinger Award for Journalistic Achievement

Judy Woodruff of “PBS NewsHour” and Albert R. Hunt of Bloomberg View have been selected to win the 2018 W.M. Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award.

Woodruff and Hunt will receive the honor at the National Press Foundation’s annual journalism awards dinner in Washington, D.C., on Feb. 13, 2019. Learn more about the dinner and awards here.

Al Hunt and Judy Woodruff

NPF judges took the rare step of honoring two journalists. Their citation: “Judy Woodruff and Albert R. Hunt are true partners in journalism and life. Their contributions to journalism personify lifetime achievement. Both have had distinguished careers across different media. Both have been generous mentors to an army of journalism heavyweights. Both have fostered informed and civilized public discussion of issues of critical importance to our nation.”

Woodruff, the anchor and managing editor of “PBS NewsHour,” is an award-winning journalist whose broadcast career spans four decades. Hunt is currently a Bloomberg View columnist; his distinguished career includes executive posts at Bloomberg and The Wall Street Journal. They have three children.

The National Press Foundation created the W.M. Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award in 1983 to honor people who have, through their vision and leadership, strengthened American journalism and furthered the efforts to establish the highest quality in American journalism. Past winners including Clarence Page, Diane Rehm, Alberto Ibargüen and Benjamin C. Bradlee.

The National Press Foundation is an independent nonprofit that is run by and for journalists. NPF’s sole mission is to educate journalists about today’s most pressing issues and to provide critical toolbox training. Learn more about NPF here.

Help Make Good Journalists Better
Donate to the National Press Foundation to help us keep journalists informed on the issues that matter most.