border wall
editor of the year
Arizona Republic Editor Wins Editor of Year Award

Nicole_CarrollNicole Carroll, editor of the Arizona Republic and, has won the National Press Foundation’s Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award.

Carroll will receive the honor at the NPF annual journalism awards dinner on Feb. 15, 2018. Learn more about the dinner and awards here.

Carroll said:  “I’m honored to receive this award. I’m grateful to be part of an amazing team, journalists who work incredibly hard every day to educate and empower our community. I share this recognition with them.”

Carroll is vice president/news and editor of the Arizona Republic and In this role, she leads Arizona’s largest news team. In the past five years, the Republic/ has twice been named a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in breaking news. Carroll also is the Southwest regional editor for the USA Today Network She earlier worked at the El Paso Times, USA Today and the East Valley (Mesa) Tribune.

The National Press Foundation established the Editor of the Year Award in 1984 to recognize significant achievements that enhance the quality of journalism in the United States. It recognizes imagination, professional skill, ethics and an ability to motivate staff — qualities that produce excellence in media and represent the highest standards of journalism. The list of distinguished winners is here.

The National Press Foundation is an independent nonprofit that is run by and for journalists. NPF’s sole mission is to educate journalists about today’s most pressing issues and critical toolbox training.

Help Make Good Journalists Better
Donate to the National Press Foundation to help us keep journalists informed on the issues that matter most.