Updated Sat Oct 24, 2015

Our award winners represented the best of well-known news organizations like POLITICO, CBS and NPR as well as newer online news sites like Huffington Post.

The Tampa Bay Times received the first Innovation in Journalism Award for their project, “Failure Factories” about a school system in Florida.

The Des Moines Register and Gannett Product won the first Best Use of Technology in Journalism Award for their project, “Harvest of Change” which incorporated VR video in their multimedia presentation.

Diane Rehm, received the W.M. Kiplinger Award for Distinguished Contributions to Journalism for her work on The Diane Rehm Show on NPR.

Editors in Chief, John Harris and Jim VandeHei received the Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award for their leadership at POLITICO.

Huffington Post’s Matt Fuller won the Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Coverage of Congress for his reporting on the Freedom Caucus.

Charlie Rose received the Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism for his work on CBS This Morning and Charlie Rose. This award was rescinded in 2017 by the National Press Foundation Board of Directors.

Curtis Tate, a reporter at the McClatchy Newspapers Washington Bureau, won the “Feddie” Award for Reporting on Federal Rules and Local Impact for work he did on the transportation of crude oil by train within the U.S.

Nigel Jaquiss of the Willamette Week received the Chairman’s Citation for his ongoing coverage of corruption in Oregon politics.

Rob Rogers of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette won the Clifford K. and James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartooning.

Check out our full list of award winners here.