Collective Sourcing Information: National Agricultural Statistics Service http://www.nass.usda.gov/Statistics_by_State/

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) http://www.noaa.gov

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics http://www.bls.gov/data
http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?ap

World Bank Food Price Watch http://www.worldbank.org/en/topic/poverty/publication/food-price-watch-home
http://ustr.gov/issue-areas-agriculture

The Government Accountability Office’s “Agriculture and Food” reports http://www.goa.gov/browse/topic/Agriculture_and_Food

USDA’s Economic Research Service http://www.ers.usda.gov
Economic reports on farm and food economy

USAID’s Risk Management Agency
http://www.rma.usda.gov
Crop insurance data, including county-level data on crop insurance premiums, indemnities, subsidies, etc.

The U.S. Geological Survey http://www.usgs.gov
A wealth of scientific information related to the availability of water, groundwater use as it relates to farming, etc.

U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
http://www.usbr.gov

Farmdoc Daily http://farmdocdaily.illinois.edu
From the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Posts are good for brainstorming story ideas.

The International Food Policy Research Institute http://www.ifpri.org

Twitter Feeds:

@food_democracy @OrganicLiveFood @biotechnology @RobbFraley @GMOAnswers @GeneticLiteracy @PrometheusGree @VanceCrowe @CivilEats @FoodTank @trueFoodNow @EWG @CSPI @c_leschin @jacobbunge @MikeMcGrawKCPT @Reveal @WisWatch @IowaWatch @Agchat @UF_IFAS @marionnestle

News feeds/media:

COMFOOD- Food industry listserve based at Tufts

FERN’s AgInsider email blast

Food Business News

The Shelby Report

Politico

Morning Ag Report

The Daily Food Safety News e-mail

Food and Farm Discussion Lab

The Midwest Center for Investigative Reporting (has cover a wide-range of topics, but is narrowing focus to only report on corporate agriculture)

Harvest Public Media and its reporting network

AgWeek http://www.agweek.com/

AgWeb http://www.agweb.com/

Prairie Farmer http://farmprogress.com/prairie-farmer

Farm Week now http://farmweeknow.com

Agri-Pulse http://www.agri-pulse.com/

Civil Eats http://civileats.com/about/

NPR’s The Salt http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/

Food and Farm News from the CA Farm Bureau www.cfbf.com

The food section on Takepart.com http://www.takepart.com/food

GreenBiz http://www.greenbiz.com/collections/sustainability

Mother Nature Network http://www.mnn.com/food

Advocacy

The Union of Concerned Scientists http://www.ucsusa.org/food_and_agriculture

The Institute for agriculture and Trade Policy http://www.iatp.org/

The Grocery Manufacturers Association http://www.gmaonline.org

The American Farm Bureau Federation http://www.fb.org/

The National Cattleman’s Beef Association http://www.beefusa.org/

The National Corn Growers Association http://www.ncga.com/home

CropLife America http://croplifeamerica.org/

The Genetic Literacy Project http://www.genticliteracyproject.org

GMO Answers http:///www.gmoanswers.com

Ceres (The Coalition for Environmentally Responsible Economies) http://www.ceres.org

The Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership http://www.trcp.org

Regional Sources & Niche Topics

Oregon land use (designed to protect farmland from sprawl)
Jim Johnson, jjohnson@oda.state.or.us, the Oregon Department of Agriculture’s land and water policy expert

Mary Kyle McCurdy of 1000 Friends of Oregon http://www.friends.org, mkm@friends.org

Regional food systems, local food, small-ag problems Ecotrust, a Portland non-profit http://www.ecotrust.org/publication/regional-food-infrastructure/

Amanda Oborne aoborne@ecotrust.org Pot and industrial hemp Seth Crawford teaches a pot policy class at Oregon State University. Has said Oregon growers could meet the U.S. demand on 5,000 acres. Seth.crawford@oregonstate.edu

Lindsey Eng, Oregon Department of Agriculture, leng@oda.state.or.us

Women in agriculture (Oregon)
Contact them on Facebook: Brenda Frketich, Marie Bowers Stagg, Molly Pearmine McCargar, Kathy Freeborn Hadley, Oregon Women for Ag.

Wine

Full Glass Research specializes in the economic impact of the West Coast Wine industry. http://fullglassresearch.com

Greg jones, Southern Oregon University, http://www.sou.edu/envirostudies/faculty/jones.html

Big Data

Peggy Kirk Hall Asst. Professor, Agriculture & Resource Law Director, Agricultural & Resource Law Program College of Food, Agriculture & Environmental Sciences Department of Extension 25 C Agricultural Administration, 2120 Fyffe Road, Columbus, OH 43210 614-247-7898 office

Agriculture attorneys

Tim Bernasek, TBernasek@dunncarney.com Represented the farmer who found GMO wheat growing ins one of this Eastern Oregon fields

Endangered species/habitat

Rob Klavins, Oregon Wild rk@oregonwild.org

Amaroq Weiss, Center for biological Diversity, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org

Colony Collapse Disorder

Ramesh Sagili at Oregon State University is an excellent source for honeybee research questions http://horticulture.oregonstate.edu/content/ramesg-sagili

Fruits and Veggies