NPF: Sandy Johnson

Sandy Johnson

President and COO

Sandy K. Johnson joined the National Press Foundation in October 2014 as its president and COO.

Johnson has held senior management positions at several national news organizations, including The Associated Press, AARP Bulletin, the Center for Public Integrity, Stateline and Face The Facts USA.

For most of her career, she managed news coverage for The Associated Press in Washington, the wire service’s largest bureau. She was Washington Bureau Chief for 10 years, overseeing coverage of the federal government, elections and politics and working with AP journalists in all 50 states as well as across the globe. She directed AP’s political coverage for 22 years, including 14 years of exit poll expertise and calling races.

Under her direction, AP refused to call the 2000 presidential race for George W. Bush despite enormous pressure after the television networks made the erroneous projection. She was a Pulitzer Prize finalist for her decision, and subsequently was awarded the Presidential Award by the Associated Press Managing Editors.

Johnson served on NPF’s Board of Directors from 2001-2014 and was Chairman of the Board from 2006-2008.

She is a member of the National Press Club, the Gridiron Club, Online News Association and the American Society of News Editors. Her husband, Chuck Raasch, is a national reporter for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Both are distinguished alumni of South Dakota State University.

Follow Sandy Johnson on Twitter @SandyKJohnson

Contact Sandy Johnson at

NPF Staff

NPF: Sandy Johnson

Sandy Johnson

President and COO

NPF: Chris Adams

Chris Adams

Director of Training and Content

NPF: Jenny Ash-Maher

Jenny Ash-Maher

Director of Operations

NPF: Alyssa Black

Alyssa Black

Program Manager

NPF: Tyler Mertins

Tyler Mertins

Digital Media Manager