The National Press Foundation has selected 20 journalists for our upcoming program, “Reporting on Criminal Justice.”

The fellowship will cover incarceration data, pre-trial justice, specialty courts, violence and weapons, implementation of the First Step Act, incarceration impact on families, re-entry into society, and more. The chosen fellows will cover the four-day annual American Society of Criminology conference following our three-day training.

The journalists are:

Jamal Andress | Newsy

Gina Barton | Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Deborah Barfield Berry | USA Today

Kate Brumback | The Associated Press

Megan Cassidy | San Francisco Chronicle

Noelle Crombie | The Oregonian (Portland)

Uriel J. Garcia | The Arizona Republic (Phoenix)

Henry Gass | The Christian Science Monitor

Angie Jackson | Detroit Free Press

Cassandra Jaramillo | The Dallas Morning News

Melissa Lewis | Reveal from The Center for Investigative Reporting

Nichole Manna | Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Shannon McCaffrey | The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Chris Palmer | The Philadelphia Inquirer

Sarah Ruiz-Grossman | HuffPost

Josh Shaffer | The News & Observer (Raleigh, North Carolina)

Jeff Simon | CNN

Andy Sullivan | Reuters

Annie Sweeney | Chicago Tribune

Alene Tchekmedyian | Los Angeles Times