Nine Reasons to Attend NPF’s Awards Dinner

The National Press Foundation will honor nine journalists and their news organizations at our annual journalism awards dinner on Thursday, Feb. 16.

Drum roll please. The 2016 award winners are:

Martha Raddatz, ABC News correspondent, winner of the Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism. Judges said: “Martha Raddatz is an intrepid correspondent who has excelled in reporting on complicated national security issues. She goes where the trouble is, leading by courageous example.” More information here.

dinner-2017-donePeter Kovacs, editor of The Advocate in Baton Rouge and New Orleans, winner of the Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award. Judges said: “Peter Kovacs has demonstrated great leadership in extremely challenging times. He has twice rallied his staff to perform heroic journalism in the aftermath of historic flooding. Kovacs skillfully steered coverage of the police shooting of a black man in Baton Rouge that roiled the community.” More information here.

Clark Hoyt, winner of the W.M. Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award. NPF judges said: “Clark Hoyt has been a steadfast champion of free, independent and responsible news media throughout his career at Knight Ridder, The New York Times and Bloomberg.” More information here.

The Washington Post, winner of the Best Use of Technology in Journalism Award, for a multimedia presentation about the tide of refugees washing up on Europe’s shores, titled “The Waypoint.”

Houston Chronicle, winner of the Feddie Award for Reporting on Federal Rules and Local Impact, for a project about shoddy regulation of chemical plants, titled “Chemical Breakdown.”

Darrin Bell, winner of the Clifford K. & James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartooning. Bell’s winning work, seen here, is distributed by The Washington Post News Service & Syndicate.

The Washington Post, winner of the Innovation in Journalism Award, for a project that methodically tracked police shootings, adding facts to an emotionally-charged narrative.

Jay Newton-Small, winner of the Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting of Co ngress, for work published in ELLE Magazine that showed the influence of women in the U.S. Senate.

Steve Buttry, veteran journalist and professor at Louisiana State University, selected for the 2016 Chairman’s Citation. Chairman Kevin M. Goldberg said, “Throughout his long and distinguished career, he has continually asked journalists to rethink how they do their jobs. In particular, his challenge to ‘listen more, talk less’ has taken on new importance as we emerge from the 2016 elections and re-evaluate what journalism is and what it must become.” More information here.

The National Press Foundation is an independent nonprofit whose sole mission is to educate practicing journalists about today’s most pressing issues and critical toolbox training.

Help Make Good Journalists Better
Donate to the National Press Foundation to help us keep journalists informed on the issues that matter most.