Dirksen award
stock trades
Wall Street Journal
Dirksen Reporting Award Goes to Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal reporters James V. Grimaldi and Michelle Hackman have won the 2017 Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting of Congress.

Grimaldi_Hackman2Hackman and Grimaldi will receive the honor at the National Press Foundation’s annual journalism awards dinner on Feb. 15, 2018. Learn more about the dinner and awards here.

The NPF judges said: “Their investigation revealed that Rep. Tom Price, then the nominee to be HHS secretary, had traded in health stocks while pushing legislation that could affect those stocks. Reverberations from their story dominated Price’s confirmation hearings and effectively put him in the crosshairs during his brief tenure at HHS.”

The Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting of Congress was created in 1980 in honor of the late Republican senator from Illinois. The award is intended to recognize U.S.-based journalists whose work shows thoughtful appraisal and insight into the workings of the U.S. Congress and represents the highest standards of journalism. A list of past winners is here.

The National Press Foundation is an independent nonprofit that is run by and for journalists. NPF’s sole mission is to educate journalists about today’s most pressing issues and critical toolbox training.

Help Make Good Journalists Better
Donate to the National Press Foundation to help us keep journalists informed on the issues that matter most.