Berryman award
Darrin Bell Wins NPF’s Berryman Cartoon Award

Judges Cite Cartoons on Issues That ‘Fascinate and Offend’

Darrin Bell has won the Clifford K. & James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons.

Bell, based in Los Angeles, distributes his work through The Washington Post News Service & Syndicate. He will receive the award at the National Press Foundation’s annual journalism awards dinner on Thursday, Feb. 16, at the Marriott Marquis hotel in Washington, D.C., along with other award winners. Learn more about the NPF dinner here.

darrin_bellThe NPF judges said of Bell’s work: “Darrin Bell’s edgy cartoons are highly focused on current events that fascinate and offend us. He addresses issues of ‘otherism’ – immigration, xenophobia, LGBTQ rights, gun violence – with intelligence and humor. There is an effective dark overlay to his drawings, a chiaroscuro if you will, that lends itself to the serious topics he covers so well.”  You can see Bell’s winning entry here.

In addition to his editorial cartoons, Bell produces two syndicated comic strips, Candorville and Rudy Park. Learn more about his work here.

The Clifford K. & James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons was created in 1989 by Florence Berryman, former art critic of The Washington Star, to honor her late father and brother, both Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonists. See the full list of distinguished Berryman winners here.

The National Press Foundation is an independent nonprofit that is run by and for journalists. NPF’s sole mission is to educate practicing journalists about today’s most pressing issues and critical toolbox training.






Help Make Good Journalists Better
Donate to the National Press Foundation to help us keep journalists informed on the issues that matter most.