Bret Baier Selected for Taishoff Award

Bret-BaierFox News chief political anchor Bret Baier has been selected as winner of the 2017 Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism.

The Taishoff award is the National Press Foundation’s highest honor for a broadcast journalist. Baier is anchor and executive editor of “Special Report with Bret Baier” in addition to his role as the network’s chief political anchor.

Baier will receive the award at NPF’s annual journalism awards dinner on Thursday, Feb. 15, at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, D.C., along with other award winners. Learn more about the NPF dinner here.

Prior to his anchor role, Baier was Fox News’ chief White House correspondent and national security correspondent. He joined the network in 1998 as the first reporter in the Atlanta bureau. Before joining FNC, Baier worked for WRAL-TV in Raleigh, North Carolina; WREX-TV in Rockford, Illinois; and WJWJ-TV in Beaufort, South Carolina. He is the author of three books: “Three Days in January,” “Special Heart: A Journey of Faith, Hope, Courage and Love” and “Three Days in Moscow,” which will be published in May.

The Taishoff family founded Broadcasting Magazine (now Broadcasting & Cable) and NPF created the Sol Taishoff Award in 1983 to honor Taishoff for his support of unrestricted speech for broadcast journalists. Previous recipients include Martha Raddatz, Tim Russert, George Stephanopolous, Andrea Mitchell, Gwen Ifill and more. The long line of distinguished winners is here.

The National Press Foundation is an independent nonprofit that is run by and for journalists. NPF’s sole mission is to educate practicing journalists about today’s most pressing issues and critical toolbox training.

For more information about dinner sponsorships, please contact Jenny Ash-Maher at

Help Make Good Journalists Better
Donate to the National Press Foundation to help us keep journalists informed on the issues that matter most.