Berryman Cartooning Award Goes To Nancy Ohanian

Syndicated cartoonist Nancy Ohanian has won the National Press Foundation’s Clifford K. and James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons.

Ohanian will be honored at the National Press Foundation’s annual journalism awards dinner on Feb. 13, 2019. Learn more about the dinner and awards here.

NPF judges said: “Nancy Ohanian’s work is a masterful exercise in composition. Her powerful images exhibit a high degree of technical skill, creating unforgettable visual satire.”

Ohanian’s editorial cartoons have been syndicated through Tribune Content Agency since 1980. She also teaches at Rowan University.

The judges also awarded an honorable mention to Tim Campbell of The Washington Post syndicate for work that sends a “crisp, direct message.”

In 1989 Florence Berryman, former art critic for The Washington Star, endowed an annual award in memory of her late father and brother, both Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonists. The Berryman award is open to U.S.-based editorial cartoonists for work that exhibits power to influence public opinion, plus good drawing and striking effect. A list of past winners is here.

The National Press Foundation is an independent nonprofit that is run by and for journalists. NPF’s sole mission is to educate journalists about today’s most pressing issues and critical toolbox training.

Help Make Good Journalists Better
Donate to the National Press Foundation to help us keep journalists informed on the issues that matter most.