Susan Swain is co-president and chief executive officer of C-SPAN, the cable industry’s public affairs network. She’s held this position since December 2006 and shares responsibility for all day-to-day operations of the public affairs cable network.

For more than twenty-five years, Susan has also been an on-air interviewer for C-SPAN. Among other assignments, she is a regular moderator for Washington Journal, C-SPAN’s morning call-in/interview program. She’s interviewed hundreds of members of Congress, policy experts, and journalists and several presidents. Her on-air work has also taken her to China, to Saudi Arabia during “Desert Storm” and onboard a nuclear submarine and an aircraft carrier.

Susan has spent much of her career at C-SPAN, beginning as a producer when C-SPAN programmed just one channel on a part-time basis. Subsequent positions included vice president of corporate communications, senior vice President and most recently, executive vice president.

On the content side at C-SPAN, Susan oversees programming for C-SPAN’s three television channels and C-SPAN radio. She helped launch The Washington Journal and BookTV – a regular weekend block featuring non-fiction books and writers. She has been involved in the creation of numerous C-SPAN history series, such as The Tocqueville Tour; American Writers; American Presidents; and The Lincoln-Douglas Debates. On the communications and marketing side of the business, Susan has helped develop the traveling C-SPAN Buses, led the publication of six books and initiated the company’s “C-SPAN in the Classroom” project, one of the cable industry’s first outreach programs to high schools and middle schools.

Susan is active in the cable industry and in journalism. She was a founding board member of CTPAA, the Cable Television Public Affairs Association (now called ACC) and is the incoming chair of the National Press Foundation and a director of the C-SPAN Education Foundation.

Susan is an alumna of the University of Scranton (PA), which awarded her a B.A. in communications. She served as a trustee of the University for six years and in 1999, the school awarded her an honorary doctorate.