Updated Sat Oct 17, 2015

Winners of awards at the National Press Foundation’s 17th annual awards dinner, held February 24, 2000, were:

James P. Willse, editor of the Newark Star-Ledger (Beveridge Editor of the Year Award)

Mike Thompson, editorial cartoonist for the Detroit Free-Press (Berryman Award for Editorial Cartooning)

Linda Douglass, senior Congressional correspondent, ABC News, and Alison Mitchell, The New York Times (Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting of Congress).

Judy Woodruff, CNN (Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism)

Walker Lundy, editor, St. Paul Pioneer Press (Chairman’s Citation)

Allen H. Neuharth, former publisher, USA Today; founder, The Freedom Forum (Distinguished Contributions to Journalism)