Updated Sat Oct 17, 2015

On February 21st, 2002, the National Press Foundation announced the winners of its 2001 awards, among the most prestigious in journalism.

Bob Schieffer, chief Washington correspondent for CBS News, received the Sol Taishoff Broadcaster of the Year Award.

Paul E. Steiger, managing editor of the Wall Street Journal, received the George Beveridge Editor of the Year Award.

Katharine Graham, the late publisher of The Washington Post, posthumously received the W.M. Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award.

Donald Graham accepted the award.

Rex Babin, editorial cartoonist of the Sacramento Bee, received the Berryman Cartoonist of the Year award.

The Everett McKinley Dirksen Awards for Distinguished Coverage of Congress were given to Jonathan Karl of CNN, and Jill Zuckman, chief Congressional correspondent for the Chicago Tribune.

The Chairman’s Citation for Overall Excellence in Journalism was given to The New York Times for its coverage of the events on and after September 11.

The foundation’s second annual award for Online Journalism was presented to VillageVoice.Com. The awards were presented Thursday, February 21, 2002 at the Washington Hilton Hotel, during the National Press Foundation’s 19th Annual Awards Dinner, a black-tie fund-raising event that honors excellence in American journalism and provides fellowships for NPF’s issue-oriented programs. More than 1,100 people attended last year’s dinner. Tables sold for $3,000, $6,000 and $10,000.

The awards were made by committees chaired by NPF board members, as follows: Editor of the Year and Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism: George Condon, bureau chief, Copley News Service; Sol Taishoff Broadcaster of the Year: Barbara Cochran, president, Radio-Television News Directors Association; Berryman Cartoonist of the Year: Geneva Overholser, Missouri School of Journalism; Dirksen Award for Distinguished Coverage of Congress: Cissy Baker, Tribune Broadcasting; Online Journalism Award, Robin V. Sproul, Washington bureau chief, ABC News.