Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism

NPF Award Winner: Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism - Wolf Blitzer

Wolf Blitzer 2013


Wolf Blitzer is CNN’s lead political anchor and the anchor of The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer, CNN’s fast-paced, news program that provides up-to-the minute coverage of the day’s events. He has been with the network for 23 years.

Blitzer was pivotal to CNN’s election coverage throughout America’s Choice 2012, serving as lead anchor on key primary nights, caucus nights and Election night. He moderated three of CNN’s Republican presidential debates including the first-of-its-kind tea party debate. During the 2008 presidential election, Blitzer spearheaded CNN’s Peabody Award-winning coverage of the presidential primary debates and campaigns. He also led CNN’s Emmy-winning “America Votes 2006” coverage and “America Votes 2004.” Furthermore, he anchored the network’s coverage during the inaugurations of Presidents Barack Obama and George W. Bush.

Blitzer is active an international reporter as well. In January 2013, Blitzer traveled to Cairo, Egypt to sit down at the presidential palace with President Mohamed Morsy. In December 2010, he was granted rare access to travel to North Korea with former New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson. While in country as the only network journalist, he took viewers inside the communist, totalitarian regime with reports from the rarely seen streets of Pyongyang and Kim II-sung University.

Known for his Middle East expertise, Blitzer reported from Israel in the midst of the war between that country and Hezbollah during the summer of 2006 and he also returned to the region with CNN anchor Anderson Cooper in 2012. In 2005, Blitzer was the only American news anchor to cover the Dubai Ports World story on the ground in the United Arab Emirates. He also traveled to the Middle East in 2005 to report on the second anniversary of the war in Iraq. In 2003, Blitzer reported on the Iraq war from the Persian Gulf region.

Blitzer began his career in 1972 with the Reuters News Agency in Tel Aviv. Shortly thereafter, he became a Washington, D.C., correspondent for The Jerusalem Post. After more than 15 years of reporting from the nation’s capital, Blitzer joined CNN in 1990 as the network’s military-affairs correspondent at the Pentagon. He then served as CNN’s senior White House correspondent covering President Bill Clinton from November 1992 election until 1999, when he became the anchor of CNN’s Sunday public affairs program Late Edition with Wolf Blitzer and remained for more than a decade.

During a lengthy career of distinguished work, Blitzer has interviewed some of history’s most notable figures, including U.S. Presidents Barack Obama, George W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George H.W. Bush, Ronald Reagan, Jimmy Carter and Gerald Ford. Blitzer has also interviewed many foreign leaders—the Dalai Lama, Pakistani President Asif Ali Zardari, former Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev, former British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, former South African President Nelson Mandela, among them.

Most recently, Blitzer was recognized as the eighth recipient of the Urbino Press Award from the Italian Embassy for his excellence in journalism. In 2011, Blitzer received the distinguished Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award from The Radio & Television Digital News Foundation, and The Panetta Institute for Public Policy’s Jefferson-Lincoln Award. He has been a part of many awards given to CNN teams.

Blitzer has authored two books, Between Washington and Jerusalem: A Reporter’s Notebook (Oxford University Press, 1985) and Territory of Lies (Harper and Row, 1989)-cited by The New York Times Book Review as one of the most notable books of 1989.

Blitzer earned a bachelor of arts degree in history from the State University of New York at Buffalo and a master of arts degree in international relations from the Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies in Washington, D.C. , and has many honorary degrees.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Dana Bash

Dana Bash



NPF Award Winner: Lester Holt

Lester Holt

NBC News


NPF Award Winner: Bret Baier

Bret Baier

Fox News Channel


NPF Award Winner: Martha Raddatz

Martha Raddatz

ABC News


NPF Award Winner: Charlie Rose

Charlie Rose



NPF Award Winner: Jorge Ramos

Jorge Ramos

Univision News


NPF Award Winner: Chris Wallace

Chris Wallace

Fox News


NPF Award Winner: Andrea Mitchell

Andrea Mitchell



NPF Award Winner: 60 Minutes

60 Minutes



NPF Award Winner: Charles Gibson

Charles Gibson

ABC News


NPF Award Winner: Gordon Peterson

Gordon Peterson



NPF Award Winner: Gwen Ifill

Gwen Ifill



NPF Award Winner: Charles Osgood

Charles Osgood

CBS News


NPF Award Winner: Tim Russert

Tim Russert

NBC News


NPF Award Winner: Brit Hume

Brit Hume

Fox News


NPF Award Winner: Cokie Roberts

Cokie Roberts

ABC News


Bob Schieffer

CBS News


Peter Jennings

ABC News


Nina Totenberg

National Public Radio


Sam Donaldson

ABC News


Dan Rather

CBS News


Jane Pauley

NBC News


Barbara Walters

ABC News


Ed Bradley

CBS News


Roone Arledge

ABC News


David Brinkley

ABC News


Brian Lamb



Ted Turner



Don Hewitt

CBS News


Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer

MacNeil/Lehrer Newshour


John Chancellor

NBC News


Ted Koppel

ABC News