Chairman’s Citation

NPF Award Winner: Chairman’s Citation - Steve Buttry

Steve Buttry 2016

Louisiana State University

Steve Buttry is Director of Student Media at the Manship School of Mass Communication at Louisiana State University. He has been practicing and teaching journalism for more than 40 years.

Buttry was digital transformation editor at Digital First Media, director of community engagement at and director of tailored programs at the American Press Institute. He has been an editor, reporter and writing coach at the Omaha World-Herald, Des Moines Register, Minot Daily News, Kansas City Star and Times and the Evening Sentinel in Shenandoah, Iowa.

Buttry is the 2016 winner of the Rich Jaroslovsky Founder Award from the Online News Association for his contributions to digital journalism. He was named Editor of the Year in 2010 by Editor & Publisher magazine for his work as editor of the Cedar Rapids Gazette and won the 2014 Glamann Award from the American Copy Editors Society for his contributions to editing.

He has contributed to efforts to update journalism ethical standards by the Online News Association, Society of Professional Journalists, Poynter Institute, American Copy Editors Society and European Journalism Centre.

Buttry has practiced journalism and trained journalists in 44 U.S. states, nine Canadian provinces, Ecuador, France, Ireland, Italy, Germany, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Siberia and Venezuela.

His blog, The Buttry Diary, has been named one of the 10 best blogs on the future of the news business, and he has been honored by the Poynter Institute and Quill magazine for his leadership in social media.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Elisabeth Bumiller

Elisabeth Bumiller

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Sally Jenkins

Sally Jenkins

Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Steve Buttry

Steve Buttry

Louisiana State University


NPF Award Winner: Nigel Jaquiss

Nigel Jaquiss

Willamette Week


NPF Award Winner: Brian Krebs

Brian Krebs



NPF Award Winner: Anthony Shadid

Anthony Shadid

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Albert Hunt

Albert Hunt

Bloomberg News


NPF Award Winner: Colbert I. King

Colbert I. King

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Austin H. Kiplinger

Austin H. Kiplinger

The Kiplinger Letter


NPF Award Winner: Peter S. Pritchard

Peter S. Pritchard

The Newseum


Mike Weisskopf

Time Magazine


NPF Award Winner: Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Akron Beacon Journal


Anthony Marro



Robert G. McGruder

Detroit Free Press


The New York Times

The New York Times


Otis Chandler

Los Angeles Times


Walker Lundy

The St. Paul Pioneer Press


Michael Bloomberg

Bloomberg, L.P.


Joe L. Allbritton

Allbritton Communications and Riggs National Bank