Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism

NPF Award Winner: Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism - Martha Raddatz

Martha Raddatz 2016

ABC News

The Taishoff Award is the National Press Foundation’s highest honor for a broadcast journalist. The NPF judges said: “Martha Raddatz is an intrepid correspondent who has excelled in reporting on complicated national security issues. She goes where the trouble is, leading by courageous example. During the recent campaign season, she co-moderated two primary debates and a presidential debate, keeping those discussions focused on the important issues facing voters. Martha’s body of work exemplifies the high standards embodied in the Sol Taishoff Award.”

Martha Raddatz is ABC News Chief Global Affairs Correspondent and co-anchor of “This Week with George Stephanopoulos.” She has covered national security, foreign policy and politics for decades – reporting from the Pentagon, the State Department, the White House, and conflict zones around the world.

She began covering war during the crisis in Bosnia in the late 1990s, but it is Iraq and Afghanistan where she has spent most of her time overseas. Even during her stint as White House correspondent during President George W. Bush’s administration, she continued to make regular trips into war-torn Iraq.

Raddatz embedded with U.S. forces during dozens of trips abroad, from the sands of Al Anbar province to the mountains of the Hindu Kush.  She is the only television reporter allowed to fly in an F-15 fighter jet on combat missions over Afghanistan, spending nearly 10 hours in the air on two separate missions. In 2011 she reported exclusive details on the raid that killed Osama Bin Laden. That same year she was one of the few reporters on the last major convoy out of Iraq. She also had an exclusive interview on the USS Kearsarge off the coast of Libya with the Marines who helped rescue two American pilots who had gone down in Libya. In 2012, Raddatz was on a U.S. destroyer as it made its way through the Strait of Hormuz. Raddatz reported exclusively from the USS George H.W. Bush covering the airstrikes against ISIS in Syria and Iraq in 2014, and again in March 2016 from the USS Truman.  In 2015 she was granted exclusive access to the anti-ISIS command center at an undisclosed location in the Middle East, and anchored “This Week” from an air base from which drone warfare is conducted.

In addition, her reporting trips have taken her to Yemen, Iran, Pakistan, Israel, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, India, Turkey, Libya, Oman, the United Arab Emirates and numerous countries in Africa and Asia.

In October 2012, Raddatz moderated the only Vice Presidential debate between Congressman Paul Ryan and Vice President Joe Biden, which covered both domestic and foreign topics. Post-debate Raddatz received an outpouring of praise for asking pointed questions on a range of issues while asserting control over the conversation. She received the Walter Cronkite Award for excellence in political journalism with a special commendation for debate moderation.  During the 2016 election season Raddatz co-moderated the Democratic and Republican primary presidential debates on ABC, for which she once again received praise for her moderating skills.

From 1993-1998 Raddatz was the Pentagon correspondent for National Public Radio (NPR). Prior to joining NPR in 1993, she was the Chief Correspondent at the ABC News Boston affiliate WCVB-TV. In addition to covering several Presidential campaigns, she reported from the former Soviet Union, Africa, the Middle East, the Philippines and Europe.

In 2012 Raddatz received the First Amendment Award from the Radio Television Digital News Foundation (RTDNF) for excellence in journalism as well as the prestigious Fred Friendly First Amendment Award. She received five Emmy Awards, including an Emmy for being on the team covering the inauguration of Barack Obama, the attacks of September 11th and the killing of Osama Bin Laden.  She was also the recipient of the 2007 International Urbino Press Award, the 2005 Daniel Pearl Award from the Chicago Journalists Association, and a 1996 Overseas Press Club Award for her live coverage of the assassination of Yitzhak Rabin. In 2007 the White House Correspondents’ Association awarded her the Merriman Smith Memorial Award for excellence in Presidential news coverage under deadline pressure.

Raddatz is the author of “The Long Road Home—a Story of War and Family,” a highly acclaimed book about a battle in Iraq that made both The New York Times and The Washington Post bestseller lists. The Washington Post described the book as “a masterpiece of literary non-fiction that rivals any war-related classic that has preceded it.”

Raddatz is the mother of a daughter and a son. She is also on the board of the Bob Woodruff Foundation that supports wounded veterans and their families.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Dana Bash

Dana Bash



NPF Award Winner: Lester Holt

Lester Holt

NBC News


NPF Award Winner: Bret Baier

Bret Baier

Fox News Channel


NPF Award Winner: Martha Raddatz

Martha Raddatz

ABC News


NPF Award Winner: Charlie Rose

Charlie Rose



NPF Award Winner: Jorge Ramos

Jorge Ramos

Univision News


NPF Award Winner: Chris Wallace

Chris Wallace

Fox News


NPF Award Winner: Andrea Mitchell

Andrea Mitchell



NPF Award Winner: 60 Minutes

60 Minutes



NPF Award Winner: Charles Gibson

Charles Gibson

ABC News


NPF Award Winner: Gordon Peterson

Gordon Peterson



NPF Award Winner: Gwen Ifill

Gwen Ifill



NPF Award Winner: Charles Osgood

Charles Osgood

CBS News


NPF Award Winner: Tim Russert

Tim Russert

NBC News


NPF Award Winner: Brit Hume

Brit Hume

Fox News


NPF Award Winner: Cokie Roberts

Cokie Roberts

ABC News


Bob Schieffer

CBS News


Peter Jennings

ABC News


Nina Totenberg

National Public Radio


Sam Donaldson

ABC News


Dan Rather

CBS News


Jane Pauley

NBC News


Barbara Walters

ABC News


Ed Bradley

CBS News


Roone Arledge

ABC News


David Brinkley

ABC News


Brian Lamb



Ted Turner



Don Hewitt

CBS News


Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer

MacNeil/Lehrer Newshour


John Chancellor

NBC News


Ted Koppel

ABC News