Lucy Dalglish

NPF Award Winner: Lucy Dalglish - Lucy Dalglish

Lucy Dalglish 2011

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

Lucy A. Dalglish is the Executive Director of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, a voluntary, unincorporated association of reporters and news editors dedicated to protecting the First Amendment interests of the news media. Based in Arlington, Va., the Reporters Committee has provided research, guidance and representation in major press cases in state and federal courts since 1970. Prior to assuming the position in January 2000, Dalglish was a media lawyer for almost five years in the trial department of the Minneapolis law firm of Dorsey & Whitney. From 1980 to 1993, Dalglish was a reporter and editor at the St. Paul Pioneer Press. As a reporter, she covered beats ranging from general assignment and suburbs to education and courts. During her last three years at the Pioneer Press, she served as night city editor, assistant news editor and national/foreign editor. Dalglish was awarded the Wells Memorial Key, the highest honor bestowed by the Society of Professional Journalists, in 1995. A year later, she was one of 24 journalists, lawyers, lawmakers, educators, researchers, librarians and historians inducted into the charter class of the National Freedom of Information Act Hall of Fame in Washington, D.C. Dalglish appears frequently in print, online and broadcast stories about issues involving the media and the First Amendment. She has been a national leader in supporting open meeting and open records laws at the state and federal level, as well as a key player over the past 10 years in the effort to pass state and federal reporters “shield laws.” She serves on the boards or advisory committees of the National Freedom of Information Coalition, the National Center for Courts and the Media, the Sunshine in Government Initiative,, and the Virginia Coalition for Open Government. She has spoken recently before journalists, lawyers, judges and citizen groups in Washington, D.C., New York, Nashville, Reno, Las Vegas, Minneapolis, St. Paul, Chicago, Pittsburgh, Austin, Eugene, Houston, San Diego, Orlando, Honolulu, Long Beach, Seattle, Tacoma, Philadelphia, Albany, Boston, Phoenix, Atlanta, Kansas City and Denver. Dalglish earned a juris doctor degree from Vanderbilt University Law School in 1995; a master of studies in law degree from Yale Law School in 1988; and a bachelor of arts in journalism from the University of North Dakota in 1980. While attending UND, Dalglish worked as managing editor of the Dakota Student and as a reporter and editor for the Grand Forks Herald. She lives in McLean, Va., with her husband, Mark McNair.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Bob Woodward

Bob Woodward

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Judy Woodruff and Al Hunt

Judy Woodruff and Al Hunt

PBS NewsHour and Bloomberg


NPF Award Winner: Clarence Page

Clarence Page

Chicago Tribune


NPF Award Winner: Diane Rehm

Diane Rehm



NPF Award Winner: Alberto Ibargüen

Alberto Ibargüen

John S. and James L. Knight Foundation


NPF Award Winner: Frank Deford

Frank Deford

NPR, HBO, Sports Illustrated


NPF Award Winner: Lucy Dalglish

Lucy Dalglish

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press


NPF Award Winner: Gilbert M. Grosvenor

Gilbert M. Grosvenor

National Geographic Society


NPF Award Winner: Bill Kovach

Bill Kovach

Committee of Concerned Journalists


NPF Award Winner: Linda Johnson Rice

Linda Johnson Rice

Johnson Publishing Company


NPF Award Winner: Thomas L. Friedman

Thomas L. Friedman

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Jack Germond

Jack Germond

Baltimore Sun


NPF Award Winner: Seymour Hersh

Seymour Hersh

The New Yorker


NPF Award Winner: Benjamin C. Bradlee

Benjamin C. Bradlee

The Washington Post


Eugene Patterson

St. Petersburg Times


Katharine Graham

The Washington Post


Helen Thomas

Hearst Newspapers


Allen H. Neuharth

The Freedom Forum


Herb Block

The Washington Post


Carl Rowan

Chicago Sun-Times and King Features


Ann Landers

Chicago Tribune/Creators Syndicate Abigail Van Buren, Universal Press Syndicate


William Safire

New York Times


Nat Hentoff

Village Voice


Elliot Jaspin

Cox Newspapers Philip Meyer, University of North Carolina


David Broder

Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Art Buchwald

Art Buchwald

New York Herald Tribune


John Siegenthaler

Nashville Tennessean


Eugene L. Roberts

Philadelphia Inquirer


A. M. Rosenthal

New York Times


John H. Johnson

Johnson Publishing Company


Donald Larrabee

Griffin-Larrabee News Bureau


Theodore A. Burtis

CEO, Sun Company


Leo Bernstein