Thomas L. Stokes Award for Best Energy and Environment Writing

John Lippert, Kambiz Foroohar, Anthony Effinger and Katherine Burton 2010

Bloomberg Markets

The National Press Foundation has awarded the 2010 Thomas L. Stokes Award for Best Energy Writing to a Bloomberg News team, for a beautifully presented explanatory magazine series on alternative energy sources. The pieces comprised a three-part series in Bloomberg Markets. Written by John Lippert, Kambiz Foroohar, Anthony Effinger and Katherine Burton, the package looks at the advantages, drawbacks and real-world prospects of algae biofuel and shale natural gas, and gives one example of an ethanol co-op gone very wrong. It’s illustrated by glorious photos and clean, helpful graphics that take readers on a deep dive into some of the most talked-about alternative energy sources. The result is a good read — colorful, balanced, and offering up enough new information to make the reader feel smarter.

Shale Game (PDF)
John Lippert

The Power Of Green (PDF)
Kambiz Foroohar

Quants, Corn and Bankruptcy (PDF)
Anthony Effinger and Katherine Burton

Each writer will receive a citation, and they will share a $1,000 prize.

The Stokes Award was established in the spring of 1959 by friends and admirers of the late Thomas L. Stokes, the syndicated Washington columnist on national affairs. It was to be given annually for the best writing “in the independent spirit of Tom Stokes” on subjects of interest to him including energy and natural resources.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Brett Chase and Madison Hopkins

Brett Chase and Madison Hopkins

Better Government Association


Lisa Song, David Hasemyer, Jim Morris, Greg Gilderman

InsideClimate News, Center for Public Integrity, The Weather Channel



An eight-person team collaborated on the winning entry


Jim Morris, Chris Hamby and Kimberly Leonard

Center for Public Integrity


Tony Bartelme

The Post and Courier


Thomas Content, Lee Bergquist, Joel Dresang

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel


Robert Collier

The San Francisco Chronicle


The Plain Dealer Staff

Cleveland Plain Dealer


Sudeep Reddy and Pete Slover

The Dallas Morning News


James Bruggers

The Courier Journal


Ralph Haurwitz and Jeff Nesmith

Austin American-Statesman and Cox Newspapers


Peter Eisler

USA Today