Wharton Seminars for Business Journalists

NPF Award Winner: Wharton Seminars for Business Journalists - Jared Hopkins

Jared Hopkins 2016

Bloomberg News

Jared S. Hopkins is a reporter in New York City for Bloomberg News, which he joined in June 2016 and covers the U.S. pharmaceutical industry. He previously spent more than six years in Chicago on the projects and investigations team for the Chicago Tribune, where he focused on public health, consumer and sports, and his reporting spurred action from public officials. He covered speedskating’s historical collapse at the 2014 Olympics in Sochi, Russia, a year after his investigation revealed the sport’s national governing body was mired in turmoil for years. In 2014, Jared was a finalist for the Livingston Award For Young Journalists for an investigation that found dozens of charities started by pro athletes were run rampant with problems and shaky oversight. In 2011, he was named a Pulitzer Prize finalist for a series that revealed a pattern of harmful care at a private facility where developmentally disabled kids died from neglect or under questionable circumstances. Previously Jared also spent more than three years at the Times-News in Twin Falls, Idaho, covering local and state government. Jared is a graduate of the Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland-College Park. Jared grew up on Long Island, where his first mark on journalism was as an 11-year-old creating a monthly newsletter about his family.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Gretchen Frazee

Gretchen Frazee

PBS NewsHour


NPF Award Winner: Michelle Singletary

Michelle Singletary

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Wendy Lee

Wendy Lee

San Francisco Chronicle


NPF Award Winner: Jared Hopkins

Jared Hopkins

Bloomberg News


NPF Award Winner: Tracey Lien

Tracey Lien

Los Angeles Times


NPF Award Winner: Liana B. Baker

Liana B. Baker



NPF Award Winner: Josh Salman

Josh Salman

Sarasota Herald-Tribune


NPF Award Winner: Heather Gillers

Heather Gillers

Chicago Tribune


NPF Award Winner: Alexandra Suich

Alexandra Suich

The Economist


NPF Award Winner: Kate Davidson

Kate Davidson



NPF Award Winner: Eric Morath

Eric Morath

The Wall Street Journal


NPF Award Winner: Victoria McGrane

Victoria McGrane

Wall Street Journal


NPF Award Winner: Daniel Tucker

Daniel Tucker

WYNC, New York Public Radio


Donna Borak

American Banker Newspaper


Julie Wernau

Chicago Tribune


Jennifer Liberto



Stacey Vanek Smith

NPR, Marketplace Morning Report