Colbert I. King

NPF Award Winner: Colbert I. King - Colbert I. King

Colbert I. King 2010

The Washington Post

Colbert I. King was born in Washington, D.C., on Sept. 20, 1939. After a distinguished career in banking and public service, he joined the editorial board of The Washington Post on Aug. 1, 1990, and was appointed deputy editor of the editorial page from January 2000 until his retirement in 2007. He continues to write a weekly column under his own byline. Mr. King was awarded the 2003 Pulitzer Prize for commentary, and was a finalist for both the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for commentary and the 2000 ASNE Distinguished Writing Award for commentary/column writing. He is a regular panelist on the weekend political TV show “Inside Washington” and a commentator for WTOP, a Washington, DC radio station. Before joining The Post, he served as an executive vice president and member of the board of directors of the Riggs National Bank of Washington, D.C. with a concentration on international banking and federal financial services. In the fall of 1979, President Jimmy Carter nominated Mr. King to serve as U.S. executive director to the World Bank. Upon his confirmation by the U.S. Senate, Mr. King became the first African American to represent the United States in that global financial institution. Mr. King has served on the boards of several organizations, including the Council on Excellence in Government, WETA, Arena Stage, Mount Vernon College, Planned Parenthood of Metropolitan Washington, the Washington Historical Society, AFRICARE and the Fund for Peace. He has been honored by DC Appleseed, the Smithsonian Anacostia Community Museum and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. He has received the 2008 Reginald S. Lourie Award and the 2009 John R. Kinard Leadership in Community Service Award . A 1961 graduate of Howard University, he is married to Gwendolyn Stewart King, a former commissioner of the U.S. Social Security Administration. They have three adult children.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Elisabeth Bumiller

Elisabeth Bumiller

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Sally Jenkins

Sally Jenkins

Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Steve Buttry

Steve Buttry

Louisiana State University


NPF Award Winner: Nigel Jaquiss

Nigel Jaquiss

Willamette Week


NPF Award Winner: Brian Krebs

Brian Krebs



NPF Award Winner: Anthony Shadid

Anthony Shadid

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Albert Hunt

Albert Hunt

Bloomberg News


NPF Award Winner: Colbert I. King

Colbert I. King

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Austin H. Kiplinger

Austin H. Kiplinger

The Kiplinger Letter


NPF Award Winner: Peter S. Pritchard

Peter S. Pritchard

The Newseum


Mike Weisskopf

Time Magazine


NPF Award Winner: Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Akron Beacon Journal


Anthony Marro



Robert G. McGruder

Detroit Free Press


The New York Times

The New York Times


Otis Chandler

Los Angeles Times


Walker Lundy

The St. Paul Pioneer Press


Michael Bloomberg

Bloomberg, L.P.


Joe L. Allbritton

Allbritton Communications and Riggs National Bank