W.M. Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award

NPF Award Winner: W.M. Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award - Clark Hoyt

Clark Hoyt 2016

The NPF judges for the Kiplinger award said: “Clark Hoyt has been a steadfast champion of free, independent and responsible news media throughout his career at Knight Ridder, the New York Times and Bloomberg. Clark supported the Knight Ridder Washington Bureau’s critical coverage of the Bush administration’s case for invading Iraq in the face of sharp criticism and skepticism, even within some of his company’s own papers. Clark has won many awards for his work, from the Pulitzer Prize in 1973 to the John S. Knight Gold Medal, Knight Ridder’s highest employee award, in 2004. One of journalism’s toughest jobs is ombudsman, and Clark served as public editor of the Times with distinction. He is also an abiding supporter of journalism training, serving as one of the earliest NPF chairmen.”

Clark Hoyt has been a reporter, editor, Washington bureau chief, corporate news executive and news ombudsman during a journalism career that started half a century ago at The Ledger in Lakeland, Florida.  His first assignment was to cover a Ku Klux Klan turkey shoot.

The majority of his career – 38 years – was at Knight Ridder, the nation’s second-largest newspaper company until its acquisition by McClatchy in 2006.  He began at Knight Ridder at the Detroit Free Press as a general assignment reporter and then politics writer.  In 1970, he became Washington correspondent for The Miami Herald and was later a national correspondent for Knight Ridder and news editor of the Washington bureau.  He became business editor of the Free Press in 1978 and was managing editor of the Wichita (KS) Eagle-Beacon from 1981-85.  He returned to Washington, where he was again news editor of the bureau and then bureau chief from 1987 to 1993.  From 1993-99, he was Knight Ridder’s vice president/news, the company’s chief news officer.  From ’99 until the sale to McClatchy, he was Washington editor, with responsibility for the Washington bureau and the editorial operations of Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services, a supplemental news service sold to media outlets around the world.  It was during this period that Knight Ridder, almost alone among major news organizations, produced coverage calling into question the stated basis for the U.S. invasion of Iraq in 2003.

In 1973, Hoyt shared the Pulitzer Prize for national reporting with Robert S. Boyd for their coverage of Democratic vice presidential nominee Thomas Eagleton’s history of treatment for severe depression.  In 2004, Hoyt received the John S. Knight Gold Medal, Knight Ridder’s highest employee award.  He is a member of the Gridiron Club, a past director of the foundation of the American Society of Newspaper Editors and a former chairman of the National Press Foundation.

After leaving Knight Ridder, Hoyt was public editor, or ombudsman, for The New York Times from 2007 to 2010, writing a weekly column dealing with issues readers raised about the paper’s coverage.  In 2010, he joined Bloomberg News, where he was an editor at large in Washington and later senior adviser to the CEO and independent senior editor, or ombudsman.

Hoyt, a graduate of Columbia College, retired from Bloomberg in 2015.  He lives in Great Falls, Virginia, with his wife, Linda Kauss, who recently retired as a deputy managing editor of USA Today, after 32 years at the paper.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Bob Woodward

Bob Woodward

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Judy Woodruff and Al Hunt

Judy Woodruff and Al Hunt

PBS NewsHour and Bloomberg


NPF Award Winner: Clarence Page

Clarence Page

Chicago Tribune


NPF Award Winner: Diane Rehm

Diane Rehm



NPF Award Winner: Alberto Ibargüen

Alberto Ibargüen

John S. and James L. Knight Foundation


NPF Award Winner: Frank Deford

Frank Deford

NPR, HBO, Sports Illustrated


NPF Award Winner: Lucy Dalglish

Lucy Dalglish

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press


NPF Award Winner: Gilbert M. Grosvenor

Gilbert M. Grosvenor

National Geographic Society


NPF Award Winner: Bill Kovach

Bill Kovach

Committee of Concerned Journalists


NPF Award Winner: Linda Johnson Rice

Linda Johnson Rice

Johnson Publishing Company


NPF Award Winner: Thomas L. Friedman

Thomas L. Friedman

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Jack Germond

Jack Germond

Baltimore Sun


NPF Award Winner: Seymour Hersh

Seymour Hersh

The New Yorker


NPF Award Winner: Benjamin C. Bradlee

Benjamin C. Bradlee

The Washington Post


Eugene Patterson

St. Petersburg Times


Katharine Graham

The Washington Post


Helen Thomas

Hearst Newspapers


Allen H. Neuharth

The Freedom Forum


Herb Block

The Washington Post


Carl Rowan

Chicago Sun-Times and King Features


Ann Landers

Chicago Tribune/Creators Syndicate Abigail Van Buren, Universal Press Syndicate


William Safire

New York Times


Nat Hentoff

Village Voice


Elliot Jaspin

Cox Newspapers Philip Meyer, University of North Carolina


David Broder

Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Art Buchwald

Art Buchwald

New York Herald Tribune


John Siegenthaler

Nashville Tennessean


Eugene L. Roberts

Philadelphia Inquirer


A. M. Rosenthal

New York Times


John H. Johnson

Johnson Publishing Company


Donald Larrabee

Griffin-Larrabee News Bureau


Theodore A. Burtis

CEO, Sun Company


Leo Bernstein