Anthony Marro

Anthony Marro 2004


Tony Marro's first job in journalism was covering high school news and sports for the Rutland (Vermont) Herald from 1957 through 1960, while he was still in high school. He was named editor of Newsday in 1987. In between, he worked as a reporter for The Herald, Newsday, Newsweek and The New York Times. He returned to Newsday in 1979 as Washington Bureau Chief, and was named Managing Editor in 1981. He retired as editor and executive vice president in 2003. As a reporter, he covered state government in Vermont and New York, spent ten years as a Washington correspondent, and for three years was a member of Newsday's Investigations Team. He reported extensively on Watergate, the FBI and the CIA, and was a member of reporting teams that won Pulitzer Prizes in 1970 and 1974, and numerous other awards. He also has received awards from The Vermont Federation of Sportsmen for his reporting on the environment, from The American Bar Association for his reporting on questionable narcotics prosecutions, and from Penn State University and the University of Florida for his reporting on the media. In addition to the publications he has worked for, he also has written for The Washington Post, The Washington Star, The Nation, The New Republic, The National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, New York magazine and The Columbia Journalism Review, and was a co-author of Beyond The Hiss Case: The FBI, Congress and The Cold War, which was published in 1982 by Temple University Press. He attended Castleton (Vermont) State College, and graduated from the University of Vermont with a B.A. in history in 1965. He received a master's degree in journalism from Columbia University in 1968.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Elisabeth Bumiller

Elisabeth Bumiller

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Sally Jenkins

Sally Jenkins

Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Steve Buttry

Steve Buttry

Louisiana State University


NPF Award Winner: Nigel Jaquiss

Nigel Jaquiss

Willamette Week


NPF Award Winner: Brian Krebs

Brian Krebs



NPF Award Winner: Anthony Shadid

Anthony Shadid

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Albert Hunt

Albert Hunt

Bloomberg News


NPF Award Winner: Colbert I. King

Colbert I. King

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Austin H. Kiplinger

Austin H. Kiplinger

The Kiplinger Letter


NPF Award Winner: Peter S. Pritchard

Peter S. Pritchard

The Newseum


Mike Weisskopf

Time Magazine


NPF Award Winner: Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Akron Beacon Journal


Anthony Marro



Robert G. McGruder

Detroit Free Press


The New York Times

The New York Times


Otis Chandler

Los Angeles Times


Walker Lundy

The St. Paul Pioneer Press


Michael Bloomberg

Bloomberg, L.P.


Joe L. Allbritton

Allbritton Communications and Riggs National Bank