Albert Hunt

NPF Award Winner: Albert Hunt - Albert Hunt

Albert Hunt 2011

Bloomberg News

Albert Hunt of Bloomberg News, the veteran print and broadcast journalist, will receive the coveted NPF Chairman’s Citation next March.

“Few journalists have had more impact in shaping the practice of journalism in Washington than Al Hunt has had,” said NPF board chairman Gerald F. Seib, executive Washington editor for The Wall Street Journal. “First in covering Congress, then as a nationally respected political correspondent, then as a television presence, then as an editor and manager, he has demonstrated that it’s possible—in fact, essential—to bring fairness, accuracy, balance, toughness and analytical insights into the coverage of our nation’s elected and appointed leaders. More than that, newsrooms across Washington are populated with journalists who learned these lessons from Al Hunt, and have gone on to spread his influence across the nation’s capital.”

Hunt is the executive Washington editor for Bloomberg News, a subsidiary of Bloomberg LP. He is the host for Political Capital on Bloomberg Television.

The Chairman’s Citation is determined solely by the chairman of the non-profit journalism education foundation and honors individuals or organizations whose work falls outside traditional categories of excellence. Previous honorees have included Colbert I. King, columnist with the Washington Post; Otis Chandler, former publisher of the Los Angeles Times; and the journalists of the Gulf Coast, who kept working through Hurricane Katrina despite great personal suffering to keep their readers, viewers and listeners informed.

The award will be presented on March 1, 2011 at the 28th annual NPF Awards Dinner, in Washington. The dinner is NPF’s largest source of unrestricted revenue and supports its free, all-expenses paid programs for journalists in the U.S. and globally.

Other leading journalists to be honored at the dinner include Andrea Mitchell, NBC News and CNBC; Gilbert Grosvenor, the National Geographic Society; and Matt Wuerker, editorial cartoonist of POLITICO. A complete list of winners can be found at

For information about the dinner, contact For information on NPF and its activities, contact

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Elisabeth Bumiller

Elisabeth Bumiller

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Sally Jenkins

Sally Jenkins

Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Steve Buttry

Steve Buttry

Louisiana State University


NPF Award Winner: Nigel Jaquiss

Nigel Jaquiss

Willamette Week


NPF Award Winner: Brian Krebs

Brian Krebs



NPF Award Winner: Anthony Shadid

Anthony Shadid

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Albert Hunt

Albert Hunt

Bloomberg News


NPF Award Winner: Colbert I. King

Colbert I. King

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Austin H. Kiplinger

Austin H. Kiplinger

The Kiplinger Letter


NPF Award Winner: Peter S. Pritchard

Peter S. Pritchard

The Newseum


Mike Weisskopf

Time Magazine


NPF Award Winner: Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Akron Beacon Journal


Anthony Marro



Robert G. McGruder

Detroit Free Press


The New York Times

The New York Times


Otis Chandler

Los Angeles Times


Walker Lundy

The St. Paul Pioneer Press


Michael Bloomberg

Bloomberg, L.P.


Joe L. Allbritton

Allbritton Communications and Riggs National Bank