Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism

The application for the Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism has closed. Please check back to see the 2017 winner of the award.

The National Press Foundation received a generous bequest from the late Sol Taishoff, founder and editor of Broadcasting Magazine and a veteran of electronic journalism. The foundation created this prestigious award for distinguished service to broadcast journalism, whether during a lifetime of service or during an exceptional year’s work.

The Taishoff Award is given to a U.S.-based broadcaster for a body of quality work in video or audio journalism that represents the highest standards of journalism. The award may recognize an individual’s accomplishment in field reporting, producing, writing or work at the anchor desk. Applications for this award are accepted; members of the awards committee can also make nominations. The award and a cash prize of $5,000 will be presented at the NPF Annual Awards Dinner.

Martha Raddatz, chief global affairs correspondent for ABC News and co-anchor of “This Week with George Stephanopoulos,” received the 2016 Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism.

Raddatz has covered national security, foreign policy and politics for decades – reporting from the Pentagon, the State Department, the White House and conflict zones around the world. She also moderated debates in the presidential primaries and general election.

The Taishoff Award is the National Press Foundation’s highest honor for a broadcast journalist. The NPF judges said: “Martha Raddatz is an intrepid correspondent who has excelled in reporting on complicated national security issues. She goes where the trouble is, leading by courageous example. During the recent campaign season, she co-moderated two primary debates and a presidential debate, keeping those discussions focused on the important issues facing voters. Martha’s body of work exemplifies the high standards embodied in the Sol Taishoff Award.”