Innovative Storytelling Award

The Innovative Storytelling Award recognizes digital journalism of the highest quality that re-invents the way stories are told to present a compelling audience experience. Judges will take into consideration the originality of the nominated presentation, and how re-imagined delivery vehicles enhanced the audience’s understanding of the underlying journalism.  It is open to any U.S. journalist or U.S. news organization. The award and a cash prize of $5,000 will be presented at the NPF Awards Dinner on Feb. 15, 2018. The winner will also present at an educational event to explain and share the innovation behind the work at a date determined by NPF and the award winner.

Washington Post journalists Samuel Granados, Zoeann Murphy, Kevin Schaul and Anthony Faiola have been chosen for the National Press Foundation’s Innovative Storytelling Award for their ambitious project on border walls and fences around the world.

NPF judges said: “The Washington Post team produced a well-crafted, user-friendly project titled ‘Raising Barriers,’ about 63 border walls or fences that separate neighboring countries on four continents. The graphic and video elements were seamless and worked beautifully together. The project exemplifies technology in the service of extraordinary storytelling.”

The judges also awarded an honorable mention to the Arizona Republic and USA Today Network for “The Wall,” a multimedia project that mapped every mile of the U.S.-Mexico border.