Evert Clark / Seth Payne Award for Young Science Writers

The award is intended to encourage young science writers by recognizing outstanding journalism in all fields of science. It is given each year in memory of journalists Ev Clark and Seth Payne, who offered friendship and advice to a generation of young reporters. The winner receives $1,000 and expenses to attend ScienceWriters2016, which combines the annual National Association of Science Writers workshops and CASW’s New Horizons in Science briefings.

The award is given in memory of Evert Clark, a veteran journalist at Business Week, The New York Times and Newsweek, and Seth Payne, his long-time friend and colleague at Business Week. It is designed to carry on the work of both journalists, who offered friendship and advice to generations of young journalists.