Awards | Evert Clark / Seth Payne Award for Young…

Evert Clark / Seth Payne Award for Young Science Writers

The award is intended to encourage young science writers by recognizing outstanding journalism in all fields of science. It is given each year in memory of journalists Ev Clark and Seth Payne, who offered friendship and advice to a generation of young reporters. The winner receives $1,000 and expenses to attend ScienceWriters2016, which combines the annual National Association of Science Writers workshops and CASW's New Horizons in Science briefings.

The award is given in memory of Evert Clark, a veteran journalist at Business Week, The New York Times and Newsweek, and Seth Payne, his long-time friend and colleague at Business Week. It is designed to carry on the work of both journalists, who offered friendship and advice to generations of young journalists.

Application Instructions

The award is limited to non-technical journalism published by a U.S.-based news organization. Science journalism includes, but is not limited to, the biological, physical, environmental, computer, and space sciences, along with technology, mathematics, health and science policy. Entries are judged on the basis of accuracy, clarity, insightfulness, fairness, resourcefulness and timeliness.

Applicants must be age 30 or younger. The 2016 Award will be limited to those applicants whose 31st birthday is July 1, 2016 or later.

Content must be published between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016. Applications may be submitted by the journalist or on the journalist's behalf.

Applications will open on January 1, 2016 and the deadline for submissions is June 30, 2016.

For more information and link to application, please visit the CASW website.



Related Content

Awards Dinner

Awards Dinner

NPF celebrates the best in journalism at its annual awards dinner. We invite you to attend!

Read More

Recent Blog Posts

Subscribe to RSS View More

Contact Us

1211 Connecticut Avenue NW
Suite 310
Washington, DC 20036

  • 202-663-7280