Chairman’s Citation

The recipient of the Chairman’s Citation is selected at the sole discretion of the NPF chairman. It confers recognition on individuals whose accomplishments fall outside the traditional categories of excellence. The award is presented at the annual Awards Dinner. Applications are not accepted for this award.

Steve Buttry has been named the recipient of the 2016 Chairman’s Citation. Buttry is Director of Student Media at the Manship School of Mass Communication at Louisiana State University. He has been practicing and teaching journalism for more than 40 years.

Kevin M. Goldberg, chairman of the NPF Board of Directors, said of Buttry’s selection:

“Steve Buttry embodies NPF’s mission of ‘making good journalists better.’ Throughout his long and distinguished career, he has continually asked journalists to rethink how they do their jobs. In particular, his challenge to ‘listen more, talk less’ has taken on new importance as we emerge from the 2016 elections and re-evaluate what journalism is and what it must become.”

Buttry was digital transformation editor at Digital First Media, director of community engagement at and director of tailored programs at the American Press Institute. He has been an editor, reporter and writing coach at the Omaha World-Herald, Des Moines Register, Minot Daily News, Kansas City Star and Times and the Evening Sentinel in Shenandoah, Iowa.