Awards Dinner | 25th Annual Awards Dinner

25th Annual Awards Dinner


February 28, 2008

The National Press Foundation's 25th Annual Award Dinner was held February 28, 2008 at the Hilton Washington Hotel. The Dinner had its highest attendance ever with 1250 people, including reporters, producers, media executives, congressional members and staff, and public affairs professionals.

The AstraZeneca pre-dinner reception and the National Journal Group VIP reception started at 6:30 p.m. Awards were presented during dinner to Thomas L. Friedman of The New York Times, Gordon Peterson of WJLA-TV, Peter Prichard of the Newseum, Jeff Cohen of the Houston Chronicle, Dana Priest and Anna Hull of The Washington Post, John Wilke of The Wall Street Journal, Drew Griffin of CNN, Steve Breen of the San Diego Union-Tribune, and the Center for Public Integrity.

The Honda post-dinner reception featured Beats Workin', the rock band fronted by former White House press secretary Tony Snow.

The 25th Annual Awards Dinner Committee was chaired by Gloria Dittus of FD Dittus Communications and Gerald Seib of The Wall Street Journal.

For more information, contact or .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).


Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism
Gordon Peterson

Benjamin Bradlee Editor of the Year Award
Jeff Cohen
The Houston Chronicle

Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism
Thomas L. Friedman
The New York Times

Chairman's Citation
Peter Prichard
The Newseum

Everett McKinley Dirksen Awards for Distinguished Reporting of Congress
John Wilke
The Wall Street Journal

Drew Griffin

Clifford K. & James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons
Steve Breen
The San Diego Union-Tribune

Excellence in Online Journalism Award
The Center for Public Integrity

Contact Us

1211 Connecticut Avenue NW
Suite 310
Washington, DC 20036

  • 202-663-7280