BETA Please send us your questions & comments about the new National Press Foundation website.

21st Annual Awards Dinner

On February 19th, 2004, the National Press Foundation announced the winners of its 2003 awards, among the most prestigious in journalism. Remarks from three of our distinguished winners are available in the sidebar.

Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism

Brit Hume

Fox News

W. M. Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award

Benjamin C. Bradlee

The Washington Post

The Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award

Sandra Mims Rowe

The Oregonian

Chairman’s Citation

Anthony Marro


Excellence in Online Journalism Award

New York Times

Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting of Congress

John Cochran

Congressional Quarterly

Candy Crowley


Clifford K. and James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartooning

Ann Telnaes

Women’s eNews