BETA Please send us your questions & comments about the new National Press Foundation website.

The Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting

The Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting 2009

Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting

The Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting is a non-profit journalism organization that covers systemic global issues through innovative media campaigns.

The Center collaborates with freelance journalists, NGOs, traditional media and educational institutions to create original, compelling reporting projects and then bring them before the broadest possible public. The Center applies its model to maintain a spotlight on often ignored issues such as water and food insecurity, homophobia and stigma, fragile states, and women and children in crisis. Its reporting appears in outlets as diverse as The Washington Post,, NewsHour, Forbes, BBC/The World, and major regional media.

Through its interactive Pulitzer Gateway, the Center connects high school and college students with the global issues that will define our times, with the goal of creating a lasting demand for quality journalism. Students become active participants in the exploration, dissemination, and discussion of critical issues. They are given the opportunity to engage directly with the journalists, challenged to uncover the local connections and to report on them in their own communities.

Honors for Pulitzer Center-commissioned projects include: an Investigative Reporters and Editors Gold Medal, a Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award for best international reporting on television, an Emmy for new approaches to news and documentary programming, and an Asia Society/Goldman Sachs Foundation Prize for Excellence in International Education for best use of media/technology. The Center’s websites are and

Jon Sawyer (executive director) founded the Center in 2006 after a 31-year career with the St. Louis Post-Dispatch that included 13 years as the newspaper’s Washington bureau chief. His assignments have taken him to some five dozen countries. Jon was selected three years in a row for the National Press Club's award for best foreign reporting. He is a graduate of Yale University.

Other Winners of this Award

2015NPF Award Winner: Charlie Rose

Charlie Rose

CBS This Morning and Charlie Rose

2015NPF Award Winner: Diane Rehm

Diane Rehm


2015NPF Award Winner: Curtis Tate

Curtis Tate

McClatchy Newspapers

2015NPF Award Winner: Matt Fuller

Matt Fuller

Huffington Post

2015NPF Award Winner: Rob Rogers

Rob Rogers

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

2015NPF Award Winner: Josh Salman

Josh Salman

Sarasota Herald-Tribune

2015NPF Award Winner: Liana B. Baker

Liana B. Baker


2014NPF Award Winner: Heather Gillers

Heather Gillers

Chicago Tribune

2014NPF Award Winner: Alexandra Suich

Alexandra Suich

The Economist

2013NPF Award Winner: Kate Davidson

Kate Davidson


2013NPF Award Winner: Eric Morath

Eric Morath

The Wall Street Journal

2012NPF Award Winner: Daniel Tucker

Daniel Tucker

WYNC, New York Public Radio

2012NPF Award Winner: Victoria McGrane

Victoria McGrane

Wall Street Journal

2011NPF Award Winner: Donna Borak

Donna Borak

American Banker Newspaper

2011NPF Award Winner: Julie Wernau

Julie Wernau

Chicago Tribune


Jennifer Liberto


Stacey Vanek Smith

NPR, Marketplace Morning Report

2014NPF Award Winner: Gilbert Bailon

Gilbert Bailon

St. Louis Post-Dispatch

2013NPF Award Winner: Robert Moore

Robert Moore

El Paso Times

2012NPF Award Winner: Gregory L. Moore

Gregory L. Moore

The Denver Post

2011NPF Award Winner: David Newhouse

David Newhouse

Harrisburg Patriot-News

2010NPF Award Winner: Mark Silverman

Mark Silverman

The Tennessean

2009NPF Award Winner: Paul Anger

Paul Anger

Detroit Free Press

2008NPF Award Winner: Leonard Downie, Jr.

Leonard Downie, Jr.

The Washington Post

2007NPF Award Winner: Jeff Cohen

Jeff Cohen

Houston Chronicle

2006NPF Award Winner: David Remnick

David Remnick

The New Yorker

2005NPF Award Winner: Ron Royhab

Ron Royhab

The Blade (Toledo)

2004NPF Award Winner: Martin Baron

Martin Baron

The Boston Globe


Sandra Mims Rowe

The Oregonian


Howell Raines

The New York Times


Paul E. Steiger

The Wall Street Journal


Howard A. Tyner

Chicago Tribune


Jim Willse

The Newark Star Ledger


John S. Carroll

The Baltimore Sun


Mike Jacobs

Grand Forks Herald


Jim Amoss

New Orleans Times-Picayune


Ed Kelley

Daily Oklahoman