The New York Times

The New York Times 2002

The New York Times

A Nation Challenged:
On the morning of September 11, The New York Times mobilized at home and abroad on a scale not seen since World War II. Virtually instantly, reporters and photographers headed for ground zero, for the border of Afghanistan and to crucial locations throughout Europe, the Middle East and across America.

But the scope and significance of the event called for a new way of organizing the many related stories, and one week later, The Times introduced A Nation Challenged; it was the fastest launch of a daily news section in the paper's history. Uninterrupted by advertising, the section was tailored to convey the historic nature of unfolding developments. It brought together the work of hundreds of journalists, covering everything from the tribal politics of Afghanistan to how anthrax was spread through the mails.

And every day the section carried a page or more of profiles of those who had died or were missing in the attack. These Portraits of Grief became a powerful link between the original tragedy and the continuing coverage, a way to see past the numbing numbers to the real lives that were shattered.

A Nation Challenged was the result of The Times's daily effort to do justice to the biggest news story of our generation.

Other Winners of this Award


NPF Award Winner: Steve Buttry

Steve Buttry

Louisiana State University


NPF Award Winner: Nigel Jaquiss

Nigel Jaquiss

Willamette Week


NPF Award Winner: Brian Krebs

Brian Krebs



NPF Award Winner: Anthony Shadid

Anthony Shadid

The New York Times


NPF Award Winner: Albert Hunt

Albert Hunt

Bloomberg News


NPF Award Winner: Colbert I. King

Colbert I. King

The Washington Post


NPF Award Winner: Austin H. Kiplinger

Austin H. Kiplinger

The Kiplinger Letter


NPF Award Winner: Peter S. Pritchard

Peter S. Pritchard

The Newseum


Mike Weisskopf

Time Magazine


NPF Award Winner: Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Albert E. Fitzpatrick

Akron Beacon Journal


Anthony Marro



Robert G. McGruder

Detroit Free Press


The New York Times

The New York Times


Otis Chandler

Los Angeles Times


Walker Lundy

The St. Paul Pioneer Press


Michael Bloomberg

Bloomberg, L.P.


Joe L. Allbritton

Allbritton Communications and Riggs National Bank