BETA Please send us your questions & comments about the new National Press Foundation website.

Paul Kane

NPF Award Winner: Paul Kane - Paul Kane

Paul Kane 2004

Roll Call

Paul Kane joined Roll Call in 2000, where is he currently a senior staff writer, focusing on party leadership, fund-raising, ethics and legal issues. He has been one of the paper's lead beat reporters in the Senate since the historic 50/50 split in 2000, covering everything from Sen. Jim Jeffords (I-Vt.) party-switching to the 9/11 attacks.

He has been a one-person bureau for The Record of Hackensack, N.J. (1998-2000), and a reporter for States News Service (1995-1998), reporting regularly for several newspapers at once, with bylines in Philadelphia Daily News, Boston Globe, Bangor Daily News.

In 1994 he took a one-year assignment as a copy editor and writing coach for China Daily, the 200,000 circulation paper in Beijing, China; targeted toward the expatriate community. His daily journalism also includes time spent at the Daily Local News, West Chester, Pa.; 34,000 daily (1993-1994): and The News Journal, Wilmington, Del.; 135,000 daily (1992-1993).

A 1992 graduate of the University of Delaware, he was a Spring 2005 media fellow at Stanford University's Hoover Institution fellowship program focusing on international affairs and the global media. He was also a Paul Miller fellow in 1996-97, when the program was run by The Freedom Forum (it is now administered by the National Press Foundation).

Other Winners of this Award

2015NPF Award Winner: Charlie Rose

Charlie Rose

CBS This Morning and Charlie Rose

2015NPF Award Winner: Diane Rehm

Diane Rehm


2015NPF Award Winner: Curtis Tate

Curtis Tate

McClatchy Newspapers

2015NPF Award Winner: Matt Fuller

Matt Fuller

Huffington Post

2015NPF Award Winner: Rob Rogers

Rob Rogers

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

2015NPF Award Winner: Josh Salman

Josh Salman

Sarasota Herald-Tribune

2015NPF Award Winner: Liana B. Baker

Liana B. Baker


2014NPF Award Winner: Heather Gillers

Heather Gillers

Chicago Tribune

2014NPF Award Winner: Alexandra Suich

Alexandra Suich

The Economist

2013NPF Award Winner: Kate Davidson

Kate Davidson


2013NPF Award Winner: Eric Morath

Eric Morath

The Wall Street Journal

2012NPF Award Winner: Daniel Tucker

Daniel Tucker

WYNC, New York Public Radio

2012NPF Award Winner: Victoria McGrane

Victoria McGrane

Wall Street Journal

2011NPF Award Winner: Donna Borak

Donna Borak

American Banker Newspaper

2011NPF Award Winner: Julie Wernau

Julie Wernau

Chicago Tribune


Jennifer Liberto


Stacey Vanek Smith

NPR, Marketplace Morning Report

2014NPF Award Winner: Gilbert Bailon

Gilbert Bailon

St. Louis Post-Dispatch

2013NPF Award Winner: Robert Moore

Robert Moore

El Paso Times

2012NPF Award Winner: Gregory L. Moore

Gregory L. Moore

The Denver Post

2011NPF Award Winner: David Newhouse

David Newhouse

Harrisburg Patriot-News

2010NPF Award Winner: Mark Silverman

Mark Silverman

The Tennessean

2009NPF Award Winner: Paul Anger

Paul Anger

Detroit Free Press

2008NPF Award Winner: Leonard Downie, Jr.

Leonard Downie, Jr.

The Washington Post

2007NPF Award Winner: Jeff Cohen

Jeff Cohen

Houston Chronicle

2006NPF Award Winner: David Remnick

David Remnick

The New Yorker

2005NPF Award Winner: Ron Royhab

Ron Royhab

The Blade (Toledo)

2004NPF Award Winner: Martin Baron

Martin Baron

The Boston Globe


Sandra Mims Rowe

The Oregonian


Howell Raines

The New York Times


Paul E. Steiger

The Wall Street Journal


Howard A. Tyner

Chicago Tribune


Jim Willse

The Newark Star Ledger


John S. Carroll

The Baltimore Sun


Mike Jacobs

Grand Forks Herald


Jim Amoss

New Orleans Times-Picayune


Ed Kelley

Daily Oklahoman